Jockeys' Guild Español | Login
The Jockeys' Guild
Home History About Us The Jockeys Articles News Newsletters Contact


Jun 27th, 12
Javier Castellano, Ramon Dominguez, Mario Gutierrez and John Velazquez were announced today by ESPN as the four nominees in the “Best Jockey” category of the 20th annual ESPY Awards. The ESPYS, which honor a wide array of athletes and sports entities, will take place July 11 at the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles.

 From NTRA Press Release

Castellano currently leads all North American riders with over $10.2 million in purse earnings.   Dominguez has won each of the last two Eclipse Awards as North America’s top jockey. Gutierrez emerged from relative obscurity and made headlines earlier this year with his winning rides aboard I’ll Have Another in the Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Brands and the Preakness Stakes. Velazquez, a two-time Eclipse Award winner (2004 and 2005) guided Union Rags to victory in this year’s Belmont Stakes. Velazquez was the winner in the “Best Jockey” category at last year’s ESPYS following his winning 2011 Kentucky Derby ride on Animal Kingdom.


Final results will be determined by fan balloting now available at and


The NTRA is a broad-based coalition of horse racing interests consisting of leading thoroughbred racetracks, owners, breeders, trainers, horseplayers and affiliated horse racing associations, charged with increasing the popularity of horse racing and improving economic conditions for industry participants. The NTRA has offices in Lexington, Ky., and New York City. NTRA press releases appear on the NTRA web site,


Previous Articles

Nutritional Section

Jockeys' Guild Membership Advantage

Jockey's Guild Annual Assembly

George Woolf Award
Click here to learn more

Jockeys' Guild Membership Application

Looking Back

Temporary Disability Policy
Click here to learn more

© 2016 The Jockeys Guild. All rights reserved.